Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: Customising UNB Designs RSS
Problem in Firefox when changing width of body
Avatar
ldaoust #1
User title: Software Developer
Member since Dec 2005 · 12 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Problem in Firefox when changing width of body
Hi,

I want to change the maximum width of the body, instead of 800px I set it at 1280px (File:unb_lib/designs/modern/css/common.css.php line:44). I want this so that the forum takes up more  space with higher resolutions. But with this setting if the browser window gets resize the right edge pixels of the enclosing box for annoucements and subforums is sometimes not drawn. I include an image so you can see what I mean. Look at the right of the image, I circled in red the area of the boxes. I don't have this problem in IE.

Image: http://pages.infinit.net/ldaoust/images/unb_exdesign.png

Any idea why it does that and how I can fix this ?

thanks,
Lou.
--
Lou
This post was edited on 2005-12-25, 05:09 by ldaoust.
Avatar
ldaoust #2
User title: Software Developer
Member since Dec 2005 · 12 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
What! No reply from Yves! Incredible....hmm....oh my, it's Christmas Time !!
Hehe, ok, I will get a life too.  ;-)

Just to send you my best wishes for the Holiday Season.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Frohe Weihnachten und glückliches neues Jahr.
(hope translation is ok  :scared:)

Lou.
--
Lou
Avatar
Yves (Administrator) #3
User title: UNB developer & webmaster
Member since Jan 2004 · 3864 posts · Location: Erlangen, Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Hi Lou,
sorry, haven't been at home today. ;)
Translation is just fine! :)

Use Firefox 1.5. Previous versions show a whole lot of such rendering errors.

Why do you want to set a maximum width to a value that nobody will ever reach anyway? You can just drop the max-width attribute.
♪ ...nanananah, all in all we’re just brilliant thieves, nanananah... ♪♬
Avatar
ldaoust #4
User title: Software Developer
Member since Dec 2005 · 12 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
 :blush: Did not realize I was not using the last version. Problem is gone with FF 1.5.

I want a larger body width because I use a resolution of 1280x1024 and the board appears center with lots of space on each side. More and more people use higher resolutions. It also makes the boxes shorter in height so less scrolling...

The width is set at 95% which is just fine. I could remove the max setting I guess. Will try that and see if it's all ok, even with a crazy horizontal resolution, the looks of it.

I don't know if UNB supports other information to be displayed on the sides and if this change would cause a problem ?
--
Lou
Avatar
Yves (Administrator) #5
User title: UNB developer & webmaster
Member since Jan 2004 · 3864 posts · Location: Erlangen, Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I know, people use higher resolutions, which itself is perfectly fine. But I really cannot understand why they would want to have text lines at a length of 2 metres. I couldn't read such long lines without using my finger to follow a line back to the left end... This is why I limited the horizontal size to a IMO reasonable value. If you have such a high resolution, you could also increase the browser window's height to reduce scrolling. ;)

You could write any plug-in that puts something to the left or the right of the forum, like the adsense plug-in can do. I had it active in this forum for a while, if you can remember. But these side notes should just take some of the space and move the rest further to the middle.
♪ ...nanananah, all in all we’re just brilliant thieves, nanananah... ♪♬
Avatar
ldaoust #6
User title: Software Developer
Member since Dec 2005 · 12 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Ok, i'll try to get my hands on a two meter long monitor and see how it comes out ;)

Thats why i probaly will leave the max at 1280. Actually at 1216 which is 95% of 1280. It's true that for a very high resolution you would get a neck injury reading long lines.

This is just a personal taste from my programming background of Windows GUI applications.

Will probably give a look at ad-sense. Could be usefull for me.
--
Lou
surecool73 #7
Member since Apr 2009 · 3 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
You are not using doctypes so your page looks different in FF and IE. Google
for "CSS box model" to learn more.

This is the culprit:

#rightcolumn
{
width: 830px;
padding-left: 150px;
padding-right: 150px
...
}

IE in quirks mode takes the width... Huh, I think it takes borders and
padding into width, but not margins? Not sure, I never use quirks mode.

FF on the other hand probably does the same in quirks mode as otherwise, it
takes the width, adds padding, then borders, then margin. And you end up
with 1130px wide container.

Set the DOCTYPE to Transitional and width to 530 and you'll be fine (or at
least better .

Hope it helps.
Make money fast
Increase traffic to website
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Go to forum
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20120620-dev, © 2003-2011 by Yves Goergen
Page created in 196.2 ms (130.6 ms) · 85 database queries in 102.2 ms
Current time: 2014-12-22, 23:43:10 (UTC +01:00)